Washington County, statewide results are in, absentee ballots still being tallied


Incumbents held on to each of their seats except in the District 4 supervisor vote won by Mala Brooks by a mere 13 votes over incumbent Jesse Amos. The more than 700 absentee ballots have yet to be counted in any races as of press time.

Of the 32,026 registered voters in Washington County, 11001 cast ballots in the Tuesday election.

The contested elections in Washington County are:

All races are from the election ballots cast Tuesday and do not include absentee votes. Winners in each race are listed first.

Supervisor District 1

Lee Gordon (Independent) 1,085 votes for 41.54%

Mark Crawford (Democrat) 1,010 votes for 38.67%

Vernon Greenlee (Independent) 515 votes for 19.72%

Supervisor District 2

Tommy Benson III (Democrat) 1140 votes for 48.59%

William ‘Bill’ Brozovich (Independent) 753 votes for 32.10%

Lavante Epson (Independent) 449 votes for 19.14%

Supervisor District 4

Mala Brooks (Democrat) 1,088 votes for 50.30%

Jesse Amos (Independent) 1075 votes for 49.70%

Supervisor District 5

Jerry Redmond Sr. (Democrat) 1,454 votes for 84.73%

Tony Franks (Republican) 261 votes for 15.21%


Methel Johnson (Democrat) 7,088 votes for 69.8%

Jerry Shelton Sr. (Independent) 3,061 votes for 30.14%


Milton M. Gaston Sr. (Democrat) 7,251 votes for 67.7%

Laquanna Moore Wesley (Independent) 3,451 votes for 32.22%

Election commissioner

District 2

Sandra Reed 1,312 votes for 63.97%

Vicki Powell Cork 727 votes for 35.45%

Senate District 12

Derrick T. Simmons (Democrat) 6,646 cotes for 79.96%

Paul D. Pecou (Independent) 1,652 votes for 19.87%


Uncontested elections in Washington County are:

Supervisor District 3 Carl McGee (Democrat)

Chancery clerk, Marilyn Hansell

Circuit clerk, Barbara Esters-Parker

County attorney, Willie Griffin (Democrat)

Tax assessor, Mark K. Seard

Tax collector, Patricia Ann Lee

Justice Court Judge JC-1, Laverne Holmes Carter

Justice Court Judge JC-2, Laverne Simpson

Justice Court Judge JC-3, Cedric Bush

Constable District 1, Nathaniel Watkins Jr.

Constable District 2, Malcoum Kent

Constable District 3, Lester ‘Bo’ Walker

Western Line School Board Trustee WL-4, Greg Welch (Nonpartisan)

The statewide election results are:

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves, Republican, on Tuesday defeated Democratic Attorney General Jim Hood and two candidates who ran low-budget campaigns. Gov. Phil Bryant is stepping down, limited by state law to two terms. Reeves is completing his second term as lieutenant governor after serving two terms as the elected state treasurer.

Republican Delbert Hosemann has defeated upstart Democrat Jay Hughes to become Mississippi’s next lieutenant governor.

Mississippi’s two-term state treasurer won a promotion to attorney general, as Lynn Fitch became the first woman to win the office, defeating Democrat Jennifer Riley Collins.

Republican Michael Watson won his race to be Mississippi’s next secretary of state, beating Democrat Johnny DuPree.

Republican David McRae defeated Democrat Addie Lee Green to become state treasurer.

Former state representative Andy Gipson won his first full term as Mississippi’s agriculture commissioner, defeating Democrat Rickey Cole.

Republican state Auditor Shad White was unopposed.

Mike Chaney, Mississippi’s Republican insurance commissioner, won a fourth term on Tuesday, defeating Democratic challenger Robert Amos.